How much does NATE certification cost?

The exam cost $50 and includes a downloadable study guide and available when exam is ordered. Retakes of the exam for the same technician cost $35 each. Those who pass this exam earn a certificate, not a NATE certification.

How long is HVAC apprenticeship?


Is HVAC a hard career?

Working in HVAC can be challenging and rewarding! HVAC could be a nice option for those who don’t like to be in the same place day after day, as your work may find you at different locations troubleshooting different problems or installing different equipment.

How do I get Nate certified HVAC?

NATE Certification: Technicians with 2 or more years of HVACR experience can earn installation or service certification in one or more of the specialty areas offered by NATE. Certification requires that the technician passes both the core exam and an installation or service exam.

Can I get EPA certified online?

EPA Section 608 Certification A Type 1 certification test for the EPA Section 608 can be completed online. Since the test can be done online or in a testing center, it is an open book exam. EPA 608 certification Types 2 & 3 require taking a proctored test. You can take the EPA Type 1 test online or in person.

Is becoming a HVAC tech worth it?

In short: yes! Becoming an HVAC technician is a rewarding process with a rewarding outcome. HVAC technicians love to work out in the field while learning new techniques and procedures all the time!

What is the difference between EPA 608 and 609?

Section 608 technician certification is required to purchase ozone depleting or non-exempt substitute refrigerants, such as HFC refrigerants. Section 609 technician certification is required to purchase CFC-12 or EPA-approved substitutes for MVACs containing an ODS.

What is the best school for HVAC?

Altierus Career College

What is HVAC certification called?

Two primary types of certification are available for HVAC technicians: EPA Section 608 Technician Certification and industry organization certifications.

How many HVAC certifications are there?

As an HVAC Technician, you handle these gases regularly during servicing, system regassing or repairs. It is mandatory that you hold this certificate. There are four types of certifications available under Section 608, each requiring a course of study and an exam to achieve certification.

What is Type 2 EPA certification?

The Type II EPA certification allows you to service or dispose of high- or very high-pressure appliances, except small appliances and motor vehicle air conditioning.

How long is Nate certification good for?

two years

How do I become EPA certified?

Technicians are required to pass an EPA-approved test to earn Section 608 Technician Certification. The tests are specific to the type of equipment the technician seeks to work on. Tests must be administered by an EPA-approved certifying organization. Section 608 Technician Certification credentials do not expire.

What EPA certification do I need for HVAC?

Section 608 Certification

Categories: Blog