What are the 6 hierarchy of control?

What is the Hierarchy of Control?

  • Eliminating the Risk (Level One)
  • Substituting the Risk (Level Tw0)
  • Isolate the Risk (Level Three)
  • Engineering Controls (Level Four)
  • Administrative Controls (Level Five)
  • Personal Protective Equipment (Level Six)

What are the examples of hierarchy of controls?

Common examples include mechanical guards, interlocking systems and safeguarding devices such as fences, safety mats and two-hand controls. While engineering controls aren’t as protective as elimination or substitution, they still control exposure at the source of the hazard, before it comes into contact with workers.

What is the WHS hierarchy of control?

The hierarchy of control is a system for controlling risks in the workplace. The hierarchy of control is a step-by-step approach to eliminating or reducing risks and it ranks risk controls from the highest level of protection and reliability through to the lowest and least reliable protection.

What is meant by hierarchy of control?

What is substitution in hierarchy of control?

Substitution. Substitution is a form of hazard elimination, and the two may be combined on some hierarchy of hazard control lists. Substitution involves replacing something that is hazardous, with something that is not hazardous. A typical example is replacing a solvent-based paint with a water-based paint.

What are the hierarchy of measures?

i) technical measures (e.g. encasing, exhaust), ii) organisational measures (e.g. only qualified employees are allowed to do specified work), iii) personal measures (e.g. wearing PPE), iv) behavioural measures (e.g. peer-observation).

What is Step 1 of the 5 steps to risk assessment?

The 5 Steps to Risk Assessment Explained

  • 1: Identify the Hazards.
  • 2: Decide Who Might Be Harmed and How.
  • 3: Evaluate the Risks and Take Action to Prevent Them.
  • 4: Record Your Findings.
  • 5: Review the Risk Assessment.

Categories: Common