What is Article 893 in Louisiana?
“893” is simply the code of criminal procedure article that allows for a felony conviction to be expunged after successfully completing probation. So the term “893 plea” simply means you are pleading guilty to a felony with an expungement opportunity.
What is Article 894 in Louisiana?
Article 894 is part of the Code of Criminal Procedure, and was revised in 2008. It is one of two articles that allow the court to suspend sentences for misdemeanors for certain offenders, permitting the offense to be expunged from one’s record if all the conditions are met.
What is a first offender pardon in Louisiana?
The First Offender Pardon contained in the Louisiana Constitution automatically pardons an individual who has been convicted of a non-violent crime (or of mingling harmful substances, extortion, or illegal use of weapons or dangerous instrumentalities) who has completed his sentence.
What crimes Cannot be expunged in Louisiana?
Under Louisiana’s law, the only felonies that cannot be expunged are those for violent offenses, sex offenses, crimes against minors, and drug trafficking offenses (mere possession with intent to distribute is eligible for expungement).
How much does it cost to have your record expunged in Louisiana?
Include all the required documents and forms including your criminal record. You must get a copy of your criminal record from the state of Louisiana within 30 days of filing your expungement petition. Pay the $550 fee.
How long does it take to get a pardon in Louisiana?
The process may take up to three months to complete. Please contact this office by mail or telephone if you have any questions. Eligibility Requirements: You have been convicted of a violation of Louisiana law, either a felony or misdemeanor.
Can a convicted felon own a gun after 10 years in Louisiana?
Bottom Line Up Front: Even though Louisiana law allows most felons to possess a firearm after ten years have passed from the completion of sentence, under federal law, a Louisiana felony conviction will forever bar the felon from owning or possessing a firearm or ammunition, unless the applicant receives an expungement …
Can I own a gun if my spouse is a felon in Louisiana?
As a result, even if someone with a past felony is permitted to possess a firearm under Louisiana state law, he is exposed to prosecution under separate federal law if he has a firearm or attempts to purchase one, unless he has an expungement, and the ATF has found no disability after a background check.