Is Margate North or South Thanet?

North Thanet consists of the northern and western parts of Thanet district (most of Margate, apart from the Cliftonville area), Westgate-on-Sea, Birchington-on-Sea, and several villages including Acol, St Nicholas-at-Wade, Minster, Manston, Monkton and Sarre) as well as the town of Herne Bay in the City of Canterbury …

What constituency is Margate?

South Thanet consists of the southern and eastern part of Thanet district (the towns of Ramsgate and Broadstairs, the Cliftonville area of Margate and the village of Cliffsend) together with the northern part of Dover district, comprising the ancient Cinque Port of Sandwich and surrounding villages.

What is the smallest constituency in the UK?

The smallest constituency by area is Islington North at 7.35 square kilometres (2.84 sq mi).

How many constituents does an MP have?

There are currently 650 constituencies, each sending one MP to the House of Commons, corresponding to approximately one for every 92,000 people, or one for every 68,000 parliamentary electors.

What towns make up Thanet?

The main towns are Margate, Ramsgate and Broadstairs.

What towns are included in Thanet?

Thanet District Council was formed in 1974 and includes the towns of Margate, Broadstairs and Ramsgate as well as a number of pretty villages. It is situated on the most north-easterly edge of Kent with coast on three sides. We have a population of just under 140,000 people and cover around 40 square miles.

Does Herne Bay come under Thanet?

Since 1983, Herne Bay has been in the North Thanet constituency, represented by Roger Gale. Herne Bay, along with Whitstable and Canterbury, is in the City of Canterbury local government district, although it remains a separate town, with countryside between it and Canterbury.

What county is Thanet?

Thanet District

Thanet Thanet District
Region South East England
Non-metropolitan county Kent
Status Non-metropolitan district
Admin HQ Margate

What is Boris Johnson’s constituency?

Uxbridge and South Ruislip is a constituency of the UK Parliament in Greater London created in 2010….Uxbridge and South Ruislip (UK Parliament constituency)

Uxbridge and South Ruislip
Major settlements Uxbridge, South Ruislip, Eastcote, Hillingdon, Yiewsley
Current constituency
Created 2010
Member of Parliament Boris Johnson (Conservative)

How many constituencies are there in London?

There are 73 constituencies in London, some of these span across more than one borough.

Categories: Other