What are the components of the reflex arc?

The simplest arrangement of a reflex arc consists of the receptor, an interneuron (or adjustor), and an effector; together, these units form a functional group. Sensory cells carry input from the receptor (afferent impulses) to a central interneuron, which makes contact with a motor neuron.

What are the 5 components of a reflex arc and what do they do?

So the reflex arc consists of these five steps in order-sensor, sensory neuron, control center, motor neuron, and muscle. These five parts work as a relay team to take information up from the sensor to the spinal cord or brain and back down to the muscles.

What are the 5 components of a general reflex arc?

The pathway can be described as a ‘reflex arc’ which is made up of 5 components:

  • A receptor – muscle spindle.
  • An afferent fibre – muscle spindle afferent.
  • An integration centre – lamina IX of spinal cord.
  • An efferent fibre – α-motoneurones.
  • An effector – muscle.

What are the components of a reflex arc quizlet?

Terms in this set (5)

  • receptor. Sense organ in skin, muscle, or other organ.
  • sensory neuron. Carries impulses towards CNS.
  • interneuron. Carries impulses within CNS.
  • motor neuron. Carries impulse away from CNS.
  • effector. Structure by which animal responds (muscle, gland, etc.)

What reflex What are the components of a reflex arc What are the different types of reflex arc and its importance?

There are two types of reflex arcs:the autonomic reflex arc, affecting inner organs, and the somatic reflex arc, affecting muscles. When a reflex arc consists of only two neurons, one sensory neuron, and one motor neuron, it is defined as monosynaptic. Monosynaptic refers to the presence of a single chemical synapse.

What is the final component of a reflex arc?

The reflex arc is a special type of neural circuit that begins with a sensory neuron at a receptor (e.g., a pain receptor in the fingertip) and ends with a motor neuron at an effector (e.g., a skeletal muscle).

What is the first component of a reflex arc quizlet?

Name Five essential components of a Reflex Arc: Receptor, Sensory Neuron, Integration center, Motor neuron, Effector.

Which component of the reflex arc is the site of the stimulus?

sensory neuron
The stimulus, such as a needle stick, stimulates the pain receptors of the skin, which initiate an impulse in a sensory neuron. This travels to the spinal cord where it passes, by means of a synapse, to a connecting neuron called the relay neuron situated in the spinal cord.

What are the 4 types of reflexes?

We have different types of reflexes in the body. Four key examples are the stretch reflex, the flexor reflex, the crossed-extensor reflex, and the Golgi tendon reflex.

What are the types of reflex arcs?

There are two types: autonomic reflex arc (affecting inner organs) and somatic reflex arc (affecting muscles). Autonomic reflexes sometimes involve the spinal cord and some somatic reflexes are mediated more by the brain than the spinal cord.

What are the 6 stages of the reflex arc?

The main stages of a reflex arc are:

  • stimulus → receptor →
  • sensory neurone → relay neurone →
  • motor neurone → effector →
  • response.

Categories: Common