What are the core principles of ICS?

Effective accountability is considered essential during incident operations; therefore, the following principles must be adhered to: check-in, incident action plan, unity of command, personal responsibility, span of control, and real-time resource tracking.

What are the three main elements that contribute to integrated ICS Communications?

The collection, analysis, and sharing of incident-related intelligence are important elements of ICS. Normally, operational information and situational intelligence are management functions located in the Planning Section.

What is the main objective of ICS?

ICS is the model tool for command, control, and coordination of a response and provides a means to coordinate the efforts of individual agencies as they work toward the common goal of stabilizing the incident and protecting life, property, and the environment.

What are the seven functions that are core to incident management?

Incident personnel should adhere to principles of accountability, including check-in/check-out, incident action planning, unity of command, personal responsibility, span of control, and resource tracking.

What are the incident types?

IMT types correspond to incident type and include:

  • Type 5: Local Village and Township Level.
  • Type 4: City, County, or Fire District Level.
  • Type 3: State, Territory, Tribal, or Metropolitan Area Level.
  • Type 2: National and State Level.
  • Type 1: National and State Level (Type 1 Incident)

What are four essential elements of any written incident action plan?

Incident goals (where the response system wants to be at the end of response) Operational period objectives (major areas that must be addressed in the specified operational period to achieve the goals or control objectives) Response strategies (priorities and the general approach to accomplish the objectives)

What is a smart objective for ICS?

The Objectives must be SMART – Specific, Measurable, Action-Oriented, Realistic, and Time Specific. Objectives are the things to be accomplished during an Operational Period.

What are the 5 elements of the NIMS response doctrine?

Response doctrine is comprised of five key principles: (1) engaged partnership, (2) tiered response, (3) scalable, flexible, and adaptable operational capabilities, (4) unity of effort through unified command, and (5) readiness to act.

Categories: Common