What is a Section 41 species?

Priority species are defined by the Secretary of State under Section 41 of the Natural Environment and Rural Communities Act 2006 as species which are of principal importance for the purpose of conserving biodiversity in England.

What is a BAP priority habitat?

UK BAP Priority Habitats are a range of semi-natural habitat types that were identified as being the most threatened and requiring conservation action. The original Priority Habitat list was created between 1995 and 1999 and revised in 2007.

What are the priority species?

WWF-India works on the following priority species that have global and/or national importance:

  • Bengal tiger.
  • Asian elephant.
  • Indian or greater one-horned rhino.
  • Ganges river dolphin.
  • Snow leopard.
  • Red panda.

Is broadleaved woodland a priority habitat?

UK BAP broad habitat All examples of this priority habitat belong in the broad habitat – Broadleaved, mixed and yew woodland. In Scotland, W8 and W10 are the most common NVC communities in this priority habitat.

What is a schedule 1 bird?

Schedule 1 birds are specially protected under the Wildlife & Countryside Act 1981 (as amended). This means that it is an offence to intentionally disturb these birds whilst they are building a nest, or in, on or near a nest containing eggs or young; or to disturb dependent young even if not in the nest.

What UK birds are on the Red List?

Bewick’s swan, goldeneye, smew and dunlin have joined the Red List, while the red-breasted merganser moves from Green to Amber. Nine of the UK’s birds are now classed as threatened with global extinction, with the kittiwake and Leach’s storm-petrel joining seven others including the puffin.

What habitats are protected UK?

List of UK BAP Priority Habitats

UK BAP Broad Habitat UK BAP Priority Habitat
Montane Habitats Mountain Heaths and Willow Scrub
Inland Rock Inland Rock Outcrop and Scree Habitats
Calaminarian Grasslands
Open Mosaic Habitats on Previously Developed Land (updated July 2010)

Are priority habitats protected?

Priority habitats and priority species are not always strictly protected under UK wildlife laws. However, they can be sensitive to development and both national and local priority species and habitats are capable of being a material consideration when determining planning applications.

What is a BAP priority species?

UK BAP priority species were those that were identified as being the most threatened and requiring conservation action under the UK Biodiversity Action Plan (UK BAP). The original list of UK BAP priority species was created between 1995 and 1999.

What is a protected species UK?

Badgers, bats and dormice are all examples of protected species in Britain. These species – which include a number of animals and some plants – are legally protected under UK and European law.

What is an Annex 1 habitat?

Annex I. Annex I lists the specific habitats which have been designated as the a Special Area of Conservation, to which a common EU-wide legislation applies. Certain habitats among those are furthermore designated as “priority habitat types”. Habitats in the EU are given codes.

Which UK birds are protected?

List of Protected Birds

Species England Northern Ireland
Geese (all species – Anser and Branta)
Golden Eagle Y Y
Goldeneye Y Y
Golden Oriole Y

Categories: Other