What is OCHA Afghanistan?

OCHA resumed its operation in Afghanistan in 2009, providing humanitarian assistance in a complex environment where separate – and not always complementary – military, political and security objectives pose challenges to the implementation of humanitarian principles, the ability of responders to reach people in need …

What is the OCHA responsible for?

OCHA is the part of the United Nations Secretariat responsible for bringing together humanitarian actors to ensure a coherent response to emergencies. OCHA also ensures there is a framework within which each actor can contribute to the overall response effort.

What province is the Taliban from?

KABUL, Afghanistan — The Taliban said on Monday they have taken control of Panjshir province north of Kabul, the last holdout of anti-Taliban forces in the country and the only province the Taliban had not seized during their blitz across Afghanistan last month.

What are the regions in Afghanistan?

Mountains divide Afghanistan into three distinct regions: the northern plains, the central mountains, and the southern plateau. With some of the most fertile land in Asia, the northern plains region is Afghanistan’s major agricultural region.

What mean OCHA?

What is OCHA? The United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (OCHA) is responsible for bringing together humanitarian organizations and Governments to ensure a rapid and coherent response to emergencies around the world.

Where is OCHA based?

New York, United States
United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs

Abbreviation OCHA
Formation 19 December 1991
Type Secretariat office
Legal status Active
Headquarters New York, United States Istanbul, Turkey

What is OCHA English?

/ochā/ common adjective. If you describe someone as common, you mean they behave in a way that shows lack of taste, education, and good manners. shallow adjective.

How many provinces are in Afghanistan under Taliban?

34 provincial
Here is an animated map showing how and when the Taliban captured 26 out of the country’s 34 provincial capitals: Below is a more detailed breakdown of how each of the provincial capitals fell to the Taliban.

Which provinces are under Taliban control?

Three more major cities are under Taliban control, as the government’s forces near collapse.

  • Faizabad. Mazar-i-Sharif. Taliqan. Sheberghan. Kunduz. Aybak. Sar-i-Pul. 100 Miles.
  • Mazar-i-Sharif. Kunduz. Faizabad. Sheberghan. Taliqan. Aybak. Sar-i-Pul. Pul-i-Khumri.
  • Mazar-i-Sharif. Faizabad. Kunduz. Sheberghan. Taliqan. Sar-i-Pul. Pul-i-Khumri.

Where is the headquarters of OCHA?

Headquartered in New York City, the UN also has regional offices in Geneva, Vienna, and Nairobi.

Categories: Common